From the very beginning boys are separated from girls. Both sexes follow through the Primary Grades, I to VII. The girls may then take the Intermediate Grades, VIII and IX, and thence enter a regional household science school, begin a four-year course in normal school or enter a superior school where a two-year course leads to a school of fine arts, a commercial course or a nurse-training course.

At the end of the fifth year a boy may enter a classical college for an eight-year course ending with a baccalaureate degree which is prerequisite for entrance to a professional course in university or he may continue on to the end of the primary course and then spend two years in the complementary course. From this point he may enter a technical school or any one of four sections of the two-year superior course—commercial, scientific, agriculture, technical or pre-normal school. The latter leads to entrance to a normal school, the others lead to specialized schools and advanced courses in technical schools or, after another year of preparatory work, to the higher schools of applied science, commerce and agriculture affiliated with the universities.

The boy who neither enters the classical college nor goes on to the complementary course may go directly from the primary course to a trade school or one of the regional agriculture schools. These schools offer two-year terminal courses.

Section 2.—Education in the Territories

The Northwest Territories.—Education in the Northwest Territories is carried on under authority of the Northwest Territories Act and the Ordinances thereunder and the Indian Act and the Regulations thereunder. The Territorial Government operates day schools at Fort Smith, Hay River, Fort Resolution and Fort Simpson for the education of Whites and those of mixed blood residing in the Northwest Territories. The Indian Affairs Branch of the Department of Citizenship and Immigration operates day schools for Indians at Fort Norman, Fort McPherson, Arctic Red River, Fort Franklin, Fort Rae, Rocher River and Fort Good Hope

For the education of Eskimos, day schools are operated by the Northern Administration and Lands Branch of the Department of Resources and Development at Aklavik, Tuktoyaktuk, Coppermine, Chesterfield Inlet, Cape Dorset and Coral Harbour, N.W.T., and at Fort Chimo and Port Harrison in the Province of Quebec.

Mission residential schools are operated by the Roman Catholic Church at Aklavik, Fort Providence and Fort Resolution, and Mission day schools at Fort Simpson and Fort Smith; the Church of England operates a residential school at Aklavik. These churches and other mission organizations also conduct schools for Eskimos at a number of points in the Eastern Arctic and northern Quebec. Eldorado Mining and Refining (1944) Limited at Port Radium and the Discovery Yellowknife Mines of the Mackenzie District also operate day schools.

The only organized school districts are the Yellowknife Public School District No. 1 and the Yellowknife Roman Catholic Separate School District No. 2. The Public School District, established in 1939, operates a modern eleven-classroom elementary and high school which was opened in 1947. The Separate School District was established in 1951 and has under consideration the erection of a four-classroom school. Meanwhile provision has been made for the attendance of the pupils of this District at the public school.